Stages Of Artistic Development Definition

Victor Lowenfeld is considered as a leader in identifying the stages of artistic development in children. Lowenfeld explains five stages of artistic development from scribble to pseudorealistic stage.

1. Scribble (2 to 4 years)
Scribble stage begins with disordered stage with uncontrolled markings which later become longitudinal with controlled repetitions and later become circular and ends in naming where the child tells stories about the scribble.

2. Preschematic (4 to 6 years)
The circular images suggest human or animal figures in this stage.

3. Schematic (6 to 9 years)
Shapes and objects are easily identifiable at this stage and figures are spatially related. The feelings are expressed by exaggeration of figures.

4. Dawning realism (9 to 11 years)
Stiffness in representation and awareness on the lack of ability to show images as they appear are features of this stage. Awareness of base line and sky line also appear in this stage.

5. Pseudo realistic stage (11 to 13 years)
The work in this stage is inspired by visual stimuli and subjective experiences. Product rather than the process becomes important at this stage.
Log In